Sharing, unsharing and deleting your Ring videos

Learn how to share, unshare and delete your Ring videos.*

*With Ring Protect you can save, review and share video recordings from your Ring devices to your Ring account. Without Ring Protect, you can still view real time video for Ring Video Doorbells and Security Cameras and answer doorbell notifications when they happen, but you don’t get video recordings of these events.

Learn how to download and save your Ring videos.

Note: When you unshare a video, Ring immediately adds it to the queue to be unshared. Please note that the video may still be accessible at the share link for some period of time while we process the request.

Private vs. shared videos

There are two different categories of video files that can be in your Ring account, private and shared.

Private videos: Private videos are recorded and saved by your Ring devices and are only accessible to you and to the Shared Users on your account.

Note: You can access your stored videos on the History page of Ring.com, after you sign in, and in the History section on the Ring mobile app. Videos can be saved up to 180 days. Learn more about video storage.

Shared videos: Shared video links are created when you choose to share a private video on the Ring app or Ring.com, via email, social media (Facebook etc.), or by text. 

When a shared video link is created, a copy of the private video is created and stored separately in a shared video folder. A new URL is then generated and assigned to the shared video. The new URL is publicly accessible, so anyone with the link can view your shared video. This keeps your private videos secure and separate from any newly created shared videos. 

Note: You can share and delete videos from the Ring app or on Ring.com. You can only unshare videos or see where you've shared them on Ring.com.

Unsharing or deleting your videos on Ring.com

To unshare or delete your videos, follow these steps.

  1. Open a web browser on your computer, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
  2. Log in to your Ring account at account.ring.com/account/dashboard
    • When you sign in to your account on your computer, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone, use the same email address and password that you use to sign in to the Ring app. You may be asked to verify your account with a code sent to your email or through a text message. 
    • If you cannot remember your Ring password, follow these instructions to reset your password.
  3. Tap on the History tab.
    • On your computer or laptop, the History tab can be found on the navigation bar on the top of your screen.
    • On a mobile or tablet web browser, the History tab can be found in the menu on the top left of the page (☰), after you sign in. 
      Screen_Shot_2021-03-08_at_11.35.30_PM.png
  4. In History, tap on View Shared Videos 
    • If you have any previously shared videos they will appear in your filtered event list.
    • A shared video will have a blue arrow icon.
      2.png
  5. Tap on Manage and select the shared video you want to manage. 
    • Tap on the Unshare button.
  6. Follow the prompts to unshare your video and tap the red Unshare Video button.
    • If a private version of the shared video has not been manually deleted or is still within the Ring Protect plan storage period, you will be asked if you want to delete the private version of the video as well.

4.png

5.png

After unsharing your video, deleting your private video, or both, you will get a message confirming your actions.

Note: Unsharing shared videos will not delete private videos and deleting private videos will not unshare shared videos. When you select a shared video, you will see where you shared your videos, such as Facebook, Twitter, email, etc.

Find out more about downloading and saving videos.

Sharing or deleting your videos from the Ring app 

Make sure you have the latest version of the Ring app installed on your device. 

Learn how to update your Ring app.

To share or delete a video(s) from your Ring app, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to your Ring app on your mobile device. 
    • You may be asked to verify your account with a code sent to your email or from a text message. If you cannot remember your Ring password, follow these instructions to reset your password.
  2. On your Dashboard screen tap on History
  3. Click on the right of the event you want to manage.
  4. Tap on the share icon or delete button.

FAQs

What happens when I share my video through a social media channel? 

When you share a video from your Ring account, Ring makes a copy of your private video and stores the shared copy on a private and secure Ring server. The shared video will have a newly generated URL that you can distribute through a channel of your choosing, such as text message, email or Facebook.

Once the shared video has been created, the new, unique URL link allows anyone who sees the video to download, copy, or distribute the video at their own discretion. 

Note: Ring does not allow anyone to access or distribute your videos and has no information on how or when your shared videos are accessed. Ring cannot revoke access to shared videos if a third party (a person, a social media site, etc.) has downloaded and/or distributed your video. Ring cannot make requests on your behalf to remove a video from possession by a third party.

I unshared my video but I still see it on the internet. How is that possible? 

If you unshare a shared video, only the original link and the copy of the video stored in the shared video folder on Ring will be deleted. Unsharing your shared video will not delete copies of the video on social media, from social media reposts, or copies from other users downloading your shared video.

If I unshare a video can I share it again?

Yes. If you unshare a video and the private video still exists within your video history, you can share it again.

Can my Shared Users unshare a video?

Shared Users cannot unshare a video that was shared by an account Owner. 

What’s the difference between shared videos for Account Owners and Shared Users? 

Account Owners and Shared Users can each manage their own shared videos. Shared Users can only unshare videos they have shared, and Account Owners can only unshare videos they have shared. 

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first community forum.