Geofence in the Ring app

This article will cover commonly asked questions about the Ring Geofence feature.

What is a Geofence?

A Geofence is a virtual perimeter or invisible boundary around a particular geographic location. When you configure a Geofence in the Ring app, the Ring app can remind you to set your Mode to “Away” when you exit the Geofence. When you come home and re-enter the Geofence, your Ring app can automatically snooze alerts from your Video Doorbells and Security Cameras.

How to enable your Ring Geofence settings

In the Ring app:

  1. Tap the menu (☰) in the upper left corner. Ensure that the location you wish to set up a Geofence for is displayed at the top of the menu.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Modes and Automations.
  4. Tap Geofence
  5. Tap Turn on feature.
  6. Read the information about location data, then tap Continue.
  7. Check the placement of your Geofence and drag the circle to centre it over your property if needed.
    • Alternatively, tap the arrow in the lower right to use the current location of your mobile device to define the centre of your Geofence. 
    • Note: Adjusting the position of the Geofence on the map will not affect your address settings for your Location.
    • Only the Ring account owner can modify the Geofence position.
  8. Tap Confirm.
  9. Set the Auto-Snooze duration. 
  10. Select the devices you wish to snooze notifications for automatically when you re-enter the Geofence.
    • Note: Compatible Ring devices that are snoozed when you re-enter your Geofence will not send alerts to the mobile device you use to configure Auto-Snooze. They will still record events if you have a Ring Protect plan, and other (non-snoozed) compatible Ring devices will still send alerts. Learn more about Ring Protect.
  11. Tap Continue.
  12. Toggle on Arm Reminders and Disarm Reminders if you want to receive reminders to change your Mode any time you exit or enter your Geofence without arming or disarming your system.
    • You can select your preferred reminder tone.
    • You will only receive an Arm or Disarm Reminder if the Mode of the Location is not already Home or Away (when exiting the geofence) or Disarmed (when re-entering the geofence).
    • Note: If you have not enabled Modes for your Ring devices you will not see this option. Learn more about Modes for Video Doorbells and Security Cameras
  13. Tap Continue.
  14. Tap Finish & Save.
  15. Next the Ring app will prompt you to enable location permissions. This lets the Ring system know when you enter or exit your Geofence. Tap Go to Settings to start sharing your location always.
    • Note: If you do not enable location permissions, Ring’s Geofence feature will not work. 

If you have set up Arm/Disarm Reminders: Like Auto-Snooze, these reminders are relevant only to the phone or tablet where they were configured. No other phones or tablets (whether logged in as you or as a Shared User for the Location) will receive an Arm/Disarm Reminder of your exit or entry. Additionally, Arm/Disarm Reminders are not sent when any other phones or tablets enter or exit the Geofence.

What does providing “Always” or “Allow all the time” access to my location mean?

Enabling this level of access to your location lets the Ring system know when your mobile device crosses the Geofence boundary, even if you aren't currently using the app.

My phone is alerting me that Ring is using my location in the background. What does this mean?

When the Geofence feature is enabled, and “Always” or “Allow all the time” location access is granted, the Ring app will use location information provided by your mobile device to determine when the mobile enters or exists the Geofence you defined, and will then follow the preferences you’ve set. In general, when the Ring app is set up for “Always” or “Allow all the time” location access, your mobile device may provide location updates to the Ring app that are not related to your Geofence, for example, when you are far away from your defined Geofence; in these cases, the data is discarded by the Ring app and no action is taken by the feature.

If you do not want the Ring app to have any access to your mobile device’s location you can always disable location settings for the Ring app.

In iOS, go to Settings > Ring > Location, and change to Never.

On Android, the settings may vary by model, but will be similar to Settings > Apps > Ring > Permissions > Location > Deny. We also recommend you disable the Geofence feature in the Ring app.

Can other Ring users see the location of my mobile device if I enable Geofence?

No. 

Will my Ring devices continue to detect motion and record video when a Ring device has been snoozed?

Yes. Just like manually enabling snooze for a Ring camera, your devices will continue to record as usual and, if you have a Ring Protect plan, you can view those videos later in the Ring app if you choose. The Ring app on the iOS or Android device with Geofence and Auto-Snooze enabled will simply not receive motion alerts for the snooze duration.

After setting up Geofence, what happens if I go into iOS or Android settings and change Ring’s location access from “Always” or “Allow all the time” to something else?

The Ring app will no longer be alerted by your iOS or Android operating system when you enter or exit your Geofence. As a result, your selected Ring devices will no longer automatically be snoozed when you enter the Geofence, and you will not be reminded to change Modes. No other user of the Geofence defined for that Location will be affected.

When you open the Ring app, you will see an alert with a link to help you re-enable the appropriate location sharing setting. To keep location sharing off and prevent this alert from appearing, disable Geofence in your Ring app settings.

Can the Geofencing feature do more than Auto-Snooze and send Arm/Disarm Reminders?

No.

Do Shared Users have any control over the Geofence?

Shared Users cannot see or access other users’ Geofence settings. However, Shared Users can enable Auto-Snooze and Mode Reminders for their own mobile device by setting up Geofence for themselves. This will not have any impact on other users (including the owner or any Shared Users) who use Geofence on the Ring app, or their respective mobile devices.

What is the experience with Geofence for an owner and a Shared User living within the same Location?
Once an owner sets up the Geofence for a Location in the Ring app, any Shared User can enable the Geofence feature for themselves for that same Location.

The Geofence entry or exit of one user does not notify nor impact the experience of another neighbour. Similarly, if one user chooses to disable Geofence for a Location in the Ring app on one mobile device, no other devices or users are impacted.

Get more information on Shared Users.

How do I change the placement of a Geofence?

The placement of a Geofence can be adjusted after setup by the owner of the devices for that Location. In Geofence settings in the Ring app, tap on the map. Then, re-position your Geofence to the desired area on the map, and tap Save.

This setting will affect all iOS and Android devices that currently use that Location's Geofence.

What does it mean to disable Geofence? Where do I do this?

Disabling Geofence only applies to the mobile device on which it is disabled. It does not impact the placement of the Geofence. Disabling Geofence on one phone or tablet does not affect any other device.

To disable Geofence for a Location:

  1. Open your Ring app.
  2. Tap the menu (☰) in the upper left corner.
    • Make sure the name of the Location that you wish to disable Geofence for is displayed at the top of the menu. You can not modify Geofence settings from the “All Cameras” view.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Tap Modes and Automations.
  5. Tap Geofence.
  6. Tap Turn off Geofence.
  7. Tap Turn off Geofence again.

Get Geofence troubleshooting steps

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first community forum.